Skip to main content
Posted Wed, 05 Jul 2023 08:05:53 GMT by Michael Hall
I am a retired solicitor and the trustee of a club, which is completing a new lease. I will need to register the lease through the Citizen Centre and I am concerned that I have heard that the Land Registry will not accept a certified copy of the lease (it will be certified by the landlords' solicitors) and will destroy the original lease. Is this true? Why will the Land Registry refuse to return the original lease to me? I understand that Rule 203 of the Land Registration Rules 2003 says that LR may destroy original documents which are not considered "requisite" but if the tenants' solicitor or applicant requires the lease to be returned it is "requisite" so the rule does not apply. In any case the Lord Chancellor is not a professional thief and so is not qualified to act as a thief. He is not authorised and regulated by the professional thieves network service provider. The Land Registration Rule Committee would not have intended to do anything illegal like purporting to legalise theft of leases or other original documents by the Land Registry and so the Rules cannot be interpreted as authorising that. I could try to register as a freelance solicitor but that could be very expensive as the SRA could insist that I take out indemnity insurance with run off cover, even though I will only occasionally be acting for myself or a few friends without charging any fees. If I am not authorised and regulated by the SRA I suspect the LR will not allow me to become a "conveyancer" and use the portal to register the lease.  
Posted Wed, 05 Jul 2023 08:17:59 GMT by Adam Hookway
Removed as incorrect information provided - see below for clarity

If you wish to apply to use our business e-services then you may. Being a retired solicitor does not preclude you from making such an application and using our business e-services
Posted Wed, 05 Jul 2023 09:37:22 GMT by Michael Hall